A Near Horizon: Seizing the opportunities and managing the risks in the transition to net zero: The importance of climate-related financial disclosures

May 28 @ 7:00 am
Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

A Near Horizon: Seizing the opportunities and managing the risks in the transition to net zero: The importance of climate-related financial disclosures

May 28 @ 7:00 am - 8:00 am UTC+1

Free

On 28 May 2020 at 7.00 pm NZST (7.00 am GMT), the McGuinness Institute, Simpson Grierson, and the Climate Disclosure Standards Board (CDSB) are delighted to invite you to join a virtual roundtable discussion to hear the perspectives of some of the world’s thought leaders on climate change and finance:

  • Speaker 1: Mark Carney (United Nations Special Envoy for Climate Action and Finance and former Governor of the Bank of England)
  • Speaker 2: Adrian Orr (Governor of the Reserve Bank of New Zealand)
  • Speaker 3: James Shaw (Minister for Climate Change, Minister for Statistics and Associate Minister for Finance)

To manage Aotearoa New Zealand’s transition to a low-carbon future, every professional financial decision must take climate change into account. How do we manage this transition? How essential is disclosure in achieving this?

For the first part of the roundtable, the panellists will discuss pathways to rapidly achieving this goal in the near future with a particular focus on the Recommendations of the Task Force on Climate-related Financial Disclosures (TCFD).

The second part will be a Q&A between the panellists and Angela Mentis (CEO, Bank of New Zealand); Matt Whineray (CEO, NZ Super Fund); Mardi McBrien (CEO, CDSB); and Martijn Wilder (founding partner, Pollination Group).